top of page

Keep Going!!

For my 41st birthday I asked my mommy for a dry erase board. Yep, at 41 I asked my for a dry erase board.Hold on.. I’m going somewhere with this. I asked because I was watching a video on YouTube about TV writers and they talked about the dry erase board in the writers’ room. And, last year I got the notion that not only could I write books, but I could create TV shows. Fast forward, a few weeks my mommy purchased me the dry erase board. I proudly used the drill to hang it up myself (if you know me, this is an accomplishment because I can’t hit a nail on the head).


So, you know what happened next. I started writing down my to-do list which included my books and TV show ideas. I have a 2020 and 2021 book publishing list. Listen, I’m writing on my board. You hear me.


Then here comes 2020 with 366 days of possibilities and an idea for each day. On January 4, I mustered up the courage to submit my first book to Amazon to be self-published. And, on January 8 I posted on social media that I published my first book. Now, if you didn’t know I’m on clouds 9-12. I’m getting positive feedback, and people are loving My Side, Her Side, His Side & The Truth, which I’m going to start calling MHHT because that is a long title…lol.


You guys are showing me love and saying you can’t wait to my next book. And, I’m like I got you. So, I start working on Crimson Stain (Part I). Guess what happens? I get stuck. I mean stuck like I’m second guessing myself if it’s good enough to come after the first book. I feel Erykah Badu when she said, “I’m an artist and sensitive about my stuff.” So, everything I had written seemed like trash.


When I was in college, I attended summer school. And, one summer I took Arts & Craft along side my bestie Courteney. I made a wreath out of gum drops and toothpicks, a butterfly collage that one of the art students carved for me full of pictures of me and family (I still have it), and my favorite thing of all was a woman that I made out of a clothes hanger, newspaper, rope and paint. I called her Life. I still have her, but life wasn’t kind to the newspaper. But, she’s yet holding on....lol


She was my favorite because I was in awe of what I had created. It was my first artistic creation. Everyday I came to class just admiring her and in awe. My professor, the late great Mr. Herman Keith said, “Michele move on. Time to work on something else.” I was like, “Mr. Keith,” (probably in a whiny voice). He didn’t say another word to me and moved on to someone else’s station.


Then this morning, I sent out my motivational text that said, “If you hear the dogs…If you see the torches in the woods…If there’s shouting after you…. KEEP GOING! Don’t ever stop.” ~Harriet Tubman.


And, the other day as watched the memorial for Kobe. Mr. Keith’s words rang loud and clear to me. I realized I was stuck. Stuck because I was in awe of MHHT. During the memorial, they discussed things that Kobe had accomplished over his life and I was like girl you both had the same 24 hours. (That’s another blog.)


After the memorial I started writing, and it’s flowing. Flowing so well I had my pro bono editor to stop working on the copy that I sent to her. (Mommy please don’t comment at the bottom.) Then today, I realized making you guys wait until April or May for another book didn’t feel right.


Growing up I always heard, “Don’t forget where you came from.” You know what I almost forgot. So, March 16 I’ll post a new story. Something you guys haven’t read before. And, you know how we do, it might just become a book…lol.


Also, I have a few other things I’m working. Two Chains said, “I have a head full of ideas and some them might sound weird.” I’m telling you I can have three stories going on in my head at one time and no less than 10 characters talking at a time. It’s ok I’m used to it now…..lol.


I just want to thank you guys for letting me ramble for a few minutes. And, please forgive me because I didn’t get my awesome editors to read this. I’m pretty sure they will send me corrections by the morning. Just know when you get stuck, #KeepGoing


As always, I love you to the moon and back…..#Twice!!



11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page