top of page

I am...Zeke Jordan

Zeke Jordan: Chapter 4

The look on Mr. Sullivan’s face told me all I needed to know. He’d messed up. Morgan was furious. She jumped up from the table and headed outside. “I need some fresh air,” she spat. I didn’t follow her because one I didn’t want to catch her wrath. And, two, it allowed me to speak to her pops alone.


“Mr. Sullivan.”


“Call me Roosevelt.”


“Roosevelt,” I leaned up, “who did you purchase it for?”


He just looked at me.


“I know you and your company had no interest in the purchase. So, tell me who put you up to purchasing the VE-20?”


He slid back from the table, “Not in here.”


I followed him down to the gardens. Which had an absolute beautiful view of the ocean. A glass of D’usse would have been perfect at that moment.


“Two weeks ago, a woman arrived at my office from Frazier Technologies. She stated that she had a business proposition for me.” He looked over his shoulder as if he was expecting someone to walk up behind us. “She wanted me to create a software to break into Blue Face’s system. I told her that I wasn’t in that type of business and asked her to leave. Then, an hour later I received a phone call.”


Roosevelt explained that he was told that his wife had been exposed to the EV-20, and if he didn’t do what they wanted she wouldn’t be given the cure. He looked horrified as he explained that he created the software and posed as the buyer for VE-20. “I had to agree to it, or my wife would’ve died. And, I love her more than I love myself.”

It all started to make sense. “You need to tell Morgan.”


“I thought telling her that her mom had COVID-19 would settle it and I wouldn’t have to tell her the truth.”


“She’s a smart girl. Which means she not quick to buying into bullshit.”


“Tell me about it.”


We walked back up to the house, where Morgan was waiting for us. She informed me that she had called for the helicopter to come pick us up.


“Morgan, before you leave it’s something I need to tell you.”


“Daddy, I don’t want to hear it. You made me take this job with I-CAT because I needed to learn the true meaning of loyalty. Now, look at you. You purchased the cure for one of the most deadliest viruses known to man. What are you going to do with it?”


Roosevelt looked over at me, then back at Morgan. “They were going to kill your mother.”


Morgan’s whole demeanor changed. “What are you talking about?”


Roosevelt explained to Morgan what he had told me minutes earlier. The look on Morgan’s face pulled on my heart as her father revealed the truth to her. At that moment, I realized I was getting soft. But, if I was her man, I would wrap my arms around her and hold her as tight as I could.


“Oh my God. Why didn’t you tell me?”


“I didn’t want to put you in danger. These people are dangerous?”


As the two of them were talking, I had Omar look up Frazier Technologies. He sent me text letting me know it was shell company for the Aram Regime. I had been waiting for years to take them down. Then he sent me another text.


They know your location


“Roosevelt, we need to get out of here. Where do you keep the car keys?”


“Hanging up in the kitchen,” he replied.


“Why,” Morgan asked. “The helicopter is on the way.”


“I don’t have time to explain, but we need to go now.” I had this gut feeling that the helicopter that Morgan called for, no longer belonged to I-CAT. While Morgan and pops were talking, I did a quick sweep of the house for bugs. And, I found two in the living room. No telling how many more in the house.


“We can’t leave Bernice,” Morgan spat.


“Get her and meet us in the garage,” I told her.


By the time we got to the garage, I heard the chopper landing. A few seconds later, Morgan and Bernice rushed through the garage. “How did you know?”


“I’m Zeke Jordan.”


She rolled her eyes. I didn’t have time for a pissing contest with her. I needed to get us out of there. We had to drive past the front of the house where they landed. “Duck,” I yelled. I already knew bullets were going to start flying as soon as they saw us.

Bernice was in the backseat screaming her head off. “Morgan shut her up,” I snapped. I needed to concentrate and all that yelling was working my nerves.

“Daddy, hand me the gun out of the glove compartment.”


I had forgotten that Morgan had an aim like a sharp shooter. I watched as she opened fire on the men. She was holding it down pretty good, but I got a few shots off as well.

We managed to make it the ferry just in time, to get back to the mainland. There was only one problem. Bernice had been hit. It was in and out, but she was bleeding pretty bad. I sent a text to our medic team, and within five minutes they were flying overhead, to take her to secure location.


The moment the ferry docked, Crysten had our men waiting to take us to an air strip. “You guys need to get off the grid until,” she told me when I talked to her.


Four hours later, we were back at headquarters. And, Roosevelt was being interviewed.


“She’s going to walk a hole in the floor,” Omar said as he pointed over at Morgan.

Since we returned to headquarters, she was a wreck trying to figure out why Frazier Technologies was targeting her family. Honestly, I wish I had the answer for her. But, I didn’t.


“You need to get her out of here. She’s making us all nervous,” Omar chuckled.

I looked at him crazy at first, but that’s exactly what I needed to do. I walked over to her station, “Come with me.”


“Where are we going?”


“Out.”


“I can’t leave. I need to find out…” I didn’t give her time to finish.


“What you need is to come with me.” I grabbed her by the hand and headed towards the elevator. She gave me every excuse why she couldn’t leave, but she wasn’t doing herself or anyone else any good at headquarters.


My first thought was to take her to her place, but I realized that whoever shot at us probably knew where she lived. Her condo was listed under Sullivan Technologies. So, I decided to take her to place.


“Where are we,” she asked.


“My place.”


“Excuse me.” She leaned over towards the door as if I had COVID-19.


I didn’t say anything, and just hopped out the car. I had taken her to place. It’s located on the opposite end of Commons Lake. I had the perfect view of the sun rising.

“I need to get back to the office.”


“No what you need is a hot shower and something to eat,” I replied.


When we got inside, I showed her to the guest room before grabbing her pair of jogging pants and a t-shirt. Then I made my way in the kitchen to start cooking.

I kept it simple. Pasta and sautéed vegies, and my lemon butter sauce. Your boy has skills in the kitchen as well.


“Something smells good,” Morgan stated as she walked in the kitchen.


“Are you talking about me or the food?”


“The food,” she smiled.


That was the first time she had smiled in hours. “I have a update on Bernice for you.”


“How is she?”


“Critical, but the doctors said she should make a full recovery.”


“Thank God,” she said as she sat down at the table. “Bernice has been with my family over 30 years, and she’s more like a second mom to me.”


I sat the plate of food in front of her. My goal was to get her to loosen up and tell me what she found out from her dad’s office. Hopefully, the hot shower and food would work.


“She’s in good hands.” I poured her a glass of wine. “So, what all did you discover in your pops’ office?”


“You made this?”


“I did.”


“This sauce needs to be bottled and sold.”


“Thanks.”


Morgan was trying to change the subject, but I didn’t know why. While she was eating, I headed in my office to do some intel. I kept thinking about my mission to Blue Face a last week. How did they know I was coming? I sent Omar a text to hack into the footage from Blue Face from that day. He sent me a quick response.


On it


As I was waiting on Omar to send me the footage, I noticed Morgan on my security cams. I had my entire house under surveillance. I turned them off when I had a lady over for a nightcap. She was texting. I waited a few more minutes before heading out.


“You enjoy the food?”


“I did. I’m telling you that sauce needs to be bottled.”


“Thanks,” I said I grabbed her plate off the table. “Tell me something.”


“What’s up?”


“Who told Blue Face I was coming that day?”


I watched as the muscles in her face tightened up. That was definitely a question she wasn’t expecting. “I’m not sure.”


“You sure?”


“Yeah, I’m sure,” she replied with an attitude. “You know that’s the second time you accused me of something.”


I chuckled. “And, neither time was I wrong.”


“What are you talking about?”


“While I was in my office, I looked into your phone records. And, according to them, you called you Pops right before we headed to headquarters.”


“You hacked into my shit.”


“Yep. Now, tell me why you’re lying.” I wasn’t one to beat around the bush either.


“It’s not what you think.” Her entire demeanor changed.


“Well tell me what to think,” I replied.


Morgan explained that two days before my arrival, the executives at Blue Face called her into the office to question her. “They thought I was working for my dad’s company.” She explained that they knew everything about her and wanted her to hack into her father’s company. And, when she refused they threatened her family. “They said if I didn’t help them with their mission, they would kill my mom. I had no idea they were going to inject her with the virus. Until, my dad told me.”


“So, who alerted them to my presence?”


“I don’t know. That’s why I had you re-routed to DNA testing. I figured if I sabotaged your mission, you guys would focus on it instead of the virus.”


“What does your pops’ company has to do with all of this?”


“The virus has to be kept at a certain temperature and can only be moved at a certain speed. Blue Face wants some technology that my pops created to store and move the virus.”


I held my hand up because I needed to process everything because what she was saying still wasn’t adding up. Why would Blue Face outsource to another computer software company to transport the virus, unless. “Your pops’ company created the virus.”


Morgan just stared at me. I couldn’t believe it. I was about to call Crysten when she said, “I created the virus.”


9 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page